My First Jacket Design Project

So, I have decided to venture out on something entirely new… Entirely different than my 9-5 day job (ummm.. I’m in IT). I’m not sure how it is going to work out but I’ve just made a decision to have some fun with it and see how it goes! I mean that’s what life is about, right?

I’ve always loved fashion in some form or the other. As long as I can remember, I have loved shopping. I mean loved it. When I was a little girl, shopping was an every weekend adventure with my Mom. I’ve always been fascinated with purses and shoes and cool, different clothes. And I would love for the chance to get a purse from my Mom that she no longer wanted! I would get so excited. As I got older, I began (as everyone does) to get more comfortable with my own sense of style. Shopping became my therapy (still is). And I started to realize that people were asking ME to help them with their fashion choices as well! It’s taken some years (gosh, I’m 38) but I am completely comfortable now with my fashion style and my eye for it. In fact, I love it! Its my way of expressing me! I see it as an extension of who I am and my personality! Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I know everything about fashion but I do think I’ve got a pretty good eye for it.

I’ve been trying to figure out for years, how I could take my passion for fashion and make it into something bigger, something more, something that I can do every day and love. I’ve considered becoming a buyer, a personal shopper, a fashion consultant. I’ve thought about it all but I’ve just never been sure how to really get into it… Now, in the meantime, what I have been doing is modifying some of my own clothes – blazers in fact – customizing them because I couldn’t find them exactly how I liked them. I’ve modified several and have gotten lots of compliments on them. And THAT’S when it hit me… What if I design my own clothes?

So, I am going to give it a try. It’s my special project. I’m starting with a custom blazer. And I am so excited about it. I’m still unsure. I really don’t know what I’m doing! And I don’t know where it will go. But I have to try. I plan to journal my project along the way. I have an initial design and fabrics (I’ll share more in my next post – this one is a little long) and now I am just trying to figure out how to make my designs come to life! Wish me luck!

20120528-135754.jpg

3 thoughts on “My First Jacket Design Project

Leave a Reply

