Flowing Frocks and Romantic Ruffles

I’ve noticed a recurring theme with some of my recent summer dress purchases…. ruffles.  Yep, that’s right, ruffles.  I think they may be my latest obsession.  Now, I’ve never been a big ruffle person.  I have a few tops here and there but nothing consistent in my wardrobe.  That is, not until now.  I mean, ruffles can be tricky.  The last thing you want is a “Puffy Shirt” incident… a la Seinfeld, right?  Ruffles are great but you have to find the right way to work them in.  And I think I have.  I’ve been looking online for a nice summer dress for an upcoming Women’s Brunch event.  Nothing too formal, of course, but not quite as casual as my usual everyday sundresses.  So, I found this one…  and that’s when it hit me, ruffles may be my newest “thing”.

I personally love this dress from Ann Taylor…. It’s been tailored with such intricate detail and it has this great alluring flow to it.  It’s just light and easy.  It’s a great dress and it’s perfect for a summer time event, whether it be a brunch or a beautiful summertime wedding.  I’ve been looking for that perfect dress and I think I may have found just the right one: the Ann Taylor Silk Georgette Dress in Hypnotic Pink.  What do you think?

Now, here are two of my other favorites with ruffles….  I integrated both of these into my work wardrobe but what I really love about them is how easily they can transition from day to night.

What I love about this dress is its piercing blue color and the cascade of the ruffle trim.  Very light and flowy.  It’s another great summer time dress – and it’s perfect as the temperature really begins to heat up.  What I’m Wearing: Ann Taylor Soft Cascades Dress in Poolside, Enzo Angiolini Python Print Sandals, J. Crew Necklace and Versona Accessories.

And of course this yellow and white maxi is a favorite of mine too.  It has a beautiful elongated silhouette and a great left side split.  It’s definitely a grab and go glam item.  What I’m Wearing: Ann Taylor Loft Maxi Dress, BCBG Sandals, B-Low the Belt Braided Hip Belt, Cole Haan Purse, and Versona Accessories.

So, what about you?  Are you in love with ruffles too?

Happy 4th of July everyone!!!

Next Up: Essence Music Festival in New Orleans

4 thoughts on “Flowing Frocks and Romantic Ruffles

Leave a Reply

