Trending Now: Blazers with Shorts

If you haven’t noticed, designers have gone crazy mixing blazers with shorts.  It’s been all over the runways for 2013 resort wear collections — so of course that means there is no better time for you to add it your summer style!  And there are so many variations of the trend, that is is easy to make it your very own.

Now, if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I personally love the glam rocker look.  Nothing like the classic t-shirt with a cute pair of shorts (or jeans or skirt) and a pair of wicked wedge sandals.  And if you’ve been reading my blog, you ALSO know that I’ve been working on my own design for a short sleeved blazer.  So, needless to say, this felt like the perfect time to bring the two together.

So, yes, this is it.  My 1st jacket (designed by me) is complete.  Huge shout to Erin Brohanon of RCB Fashion who constructed it for me.  She finished it for me earlier this week.  Believe me, it’s taken everything that I have not to immediately blog about it (I just had to finish my New Orleans series 1st) and it’s taken COMPLETE restraint not to wear the doggone thing every single day.  No surprise right? — I love it!  I could not be more pleased with the finished product.  It is a little surreal you know.  But it’s also extremely exciting – almost intoxicating.  My mind is going a million miles per hour.  I’ve got so many ideas, so many thoughts…  And it’s all just flooding out now.  So much I want to do.

What I’m Wearing: Kenya L Designs Blazer (woo-hoo!!), J. Crew Tee, J. Crew Chino Shorts, MIA Wedge Platform Sandals, J. Crew Necklace, Versona Accessories Bracelet and Earrings and Kate Spade Aviator Sunnies

At this point, I’m just taking it all in and letting it evolve.  My next step is to produce a small group and test them out for sale online.  I already have a few custom orders – which is beyond cool.  Let me know what you think and be on the look out for my 1st sales….

Happy Weekend Everyone!!!

Oh and am I the only one who is completely stoked about Season 10 of Project Runway in 5 days??!!  (Yes, I am counting down).

6 thoughts on “Trending Now: Blazers with Shorts

  1. I love the design of your blazer! I too am a bit of a “pair a blazer with ___” type and think the short, mini, or even maxi dress can all be enhanced by it! I look forward to seeing future designs by Kenya L. because You Rocked That!!

Leave a Reply

