Wax On: Daring Denim and other Fall Trends

With this being the first official week of Fall, I’ve been kinda re-assessing my current wardrobe. This has become almost a “ritual” for me at the transition of each new season and it always ends the same way…. “Oh gosh I have NOTHING to wear”. (Please tell me I’m not alone with this).
Now, I’m not quite sure how this happens. I’d like to think that the “clothing fairies” have whisked away all of my fabulous items from the prior year but I’m afraid it is just me being fickle. Suddenly nothing seems worthy of wearing out…  And of course somehow this ends up equaling me “needing” something to wear and therefore needing something to buy!
So, here are the 3 current Fall trends that I am obsessing over and have actively started pursuing:
Leather Inspired Denim Leggings:
Leather is definitely making a come back this Fall.  And there are so many variations of the trend that it is easy to try….  Leather from head to toe, leather tops, leather skirts, leather pants and leather leggings.  So, I decided to give this trend a go with a couple of pair of leather inspired denim leggings by J. Brand.  These leggings aren’t actually leather but are waxed denim instead.  It’s a nice alternative to leather though — less of a price tag and more breathable.
Here are a couple of celebrity fashionistas rockin’ them out!
Oxblood:
This is my newest color crush.  There is something about it that is very rich, regal.  It was all over the runways this fall and can be found just about everywhere — from boots to dresses (my current obsession) to purses to trousers to jeans.  There are lots of ways for you to incorporate it – no matter your personal style.  I actually just ordered the TopShop Peplum top (right photo) tonight.  Can’t wait to get it!
Peplum:
This trend is definitely in for Fall.  You’ll see this one everywhere as well – it is such a classic look.  I love the sense of elegance and femininity of it.  What’s great about this style is that it can be  applied in so many ways.  It can be worn more traditionally with a skirt but also looks great paired with jeans or a great pair of trousers.  And added bonus: this style works well for curvy and hourglass shapes, as it accentuates the waist.
So, what are your favorite Fall trends?  I’d love to hear from you so let me know!
Have a good weekend everyone!!
15 thoughts on “Wax On: Daring Denim and other Fall Trends

  1. First of all, I love this waxed trend. My mom got a couple of waxed pieces I’ve been trying to get my hands on a couple of years ago but it’s really big this year and I NEED some. I posted about top 2012 fall fashion trends recently, but I’d definitely talk about oxblood and waxed denim if I were to update it now.

    • Totally agree with you. Waxed denim and oxblood are hot right now (and peplum too honestly)!! I think my goal is to combine all 3 into one ensemble at some point this fall!! So, yes, you must get some waxed denim!! I love mine — they feel and look so good on – it’s instant glam!!

      Thanks so much for stopping by the blog and sharing your thoughts!!!

  2. Kenya- I can absolutely relate to feeling like i have nothing to wear when the seasons change (despite my closet looking otherwise.) I just purchased a few items to update my fall wardrobe- a few tops, two scarves, and a cute pair of boots. I’m satisfied for now 🙂 I am also LOVING oxblood! xo Amber

    • Absolutely agree with you! Leather is huge this fall. Helmut Lang is always fierce! I am definitely working my way up to leather…. in fact I think I really want a leather peplum top now!

Leave a Reply

