Happy (Belated) Birthday to Me!

Ok, so, this post is a little old….  my birthday was actually on Thursday October 4 (Yay)!  It’s been a busy couple of days of course, so I am just now really getting around to blogging about it.  Now, just so you understand, no matter how old I am, I always get excited for my birthday.  In fact, I am quite a “ham” when it comes to that.  I expect the day to start with a 6:30 a.m. birthday call (song included) from my Dad and then loads and loads of birthday wishes throughout the day.  The more the better.   So, I’ll be honest, I don’t really get the people who view it as just another day.  I mean, what gives??  For me, it’s like my own personal holiday.  Who wouldn’t  love that?   I enjoy every moment of the day (the more attention – the better) and practically the ENTIRE month.  (And just so you know, yes,  I have a special kinship with fellow Libras and the month of October in general… everybody knows both are the best).  Translation = I pretty much milk it for as much as I can!

Here are 2 highlights of the week:

Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.  This wasn’t part of my official celebration necessarily but it is part of my October tradition.  It’s so amazing to see and be a part of all the positive energy for such a great cause.  24,000 walking for the cure.  Over $1M raised.  Just awesome.

5 Church.  I joined a couple of my friends for a night out at a new, kinda swanky restaurant, 5 Church,  in uptown Charlotte.  The spot had gotten a lot of attention from celebs during the recent Democratic National Convention, so I wanted to give it a try, to see how the “stars” do it!!  I decided to pull out one of my New Orleans Fashion Finds (see prior post) that I had been dying to wear.  If you recall that post, I loved this dress as soon as I saw it.  It’s so fun and girly – just perfect for a birthday celebration.

Now, 5 Church’s “look” is pretty impressive when you first walk in.

It simply looks cool.  The decor is very upscale and  trendy.  And the overall vibe is very “big city” if that makes sense.  In other words, I felt like I was some place else besides Charlotte for a minute…  and I completely expected to see Carrie Bradshaw at some point.   Great spot for appetizers and cocktails.

Overall, the food was good, the drinks were great but the service was really poor.  Our entire group (5 of us) ended up getting everything for free after waiting over an hour for our food to come out and me having to send my lamb burger back because it was not cooked to my order (there were other issues but we’ll just let those go).  To their credit, the staff offered their apologies without us even having to address it and immediately offered to pick up the entire tab.  Good for us, expensive for them.  Hopefully this was just a bad night for them (and just for the record, I would give them another try).  But despite it all, honestly, it was a great night for me and a great way to end my birthday celebration.

What I’m Wearing: Dress by Darling, Kenneth Cole Reaction Sandals, eBay Find Purse, Blanc Noir Jacket, vintage pearls

6 thoughts on “Happy (Belated) Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

