My Weekend Trip to Hong Kong (Vintage)

I’ll be honest…  I’ve never been much of a thrift or consignment girl.  I’m not exactly sure why.  I’ve just always tended to be more on the mainstream side of things (translation = mall hog)…  Until recently that is.  My own journey with design has opened my eyes to just how beautiful being unique is.  I find more and more that I don’t like being the “same” as everyone else.  In fact it annoys me at times.  I like being different… having my own unique style, my own point of view and owning that.  I’ve been finding new ways (and venues) to help me express my fashion point of view.

So, my latest find (and I must say by far the absolute best) is Hong Kong Vintage in the Plaza Midwood section of Charlotte.  *On a side note* Plaza Midwood itself has changed drastically in the past few years.  The district has a somewhat artsy edge to it – similar to NoDa – but maybe a little better.  It felt very fresh, very open – it was, dare I say, “bustling” with activity.  There were so many new little shops and cool eating spots.  If you haven’t been there, you must go.

Hong Kong Vintage is a true “vintage” shop.  There were vintage items from every era.  Clothes, purses, jewelry, shoes, household items, luggage.  You name it, it was there (but not cluttered).  The merchandise itself was very cool.  Everything in the shop was in great condition, high quality, yet very reasonably priced.  The shop was also organized extremely well.  Essentially organized by colors and type.  This was the biggest selling point for me….  I often find it difficult to shop in the usual thrift or consignment store because it’s just too doggone hard to find anything.  But this was easy…  The store just had a very hip vibe to it and the owner, Elizabeth, was extremely helpful.  As soon as I had a few items in hand, she was over to start a dressing room for me.  I ended up picking up 5 items total, (3 dresses, 1 blazer and a purse) for ~$85.  Not bad for some super cool finds.

My biggest tip; be sure to try everything on.  Since much is vintage, many items don’t have size labels inside.  There were quite a few items that I thought were fine by sight but when I tried them… didn’t work for me.

All in all, I must admit that I completely fell in love with this shop.  It is by far the best vintage experience I have had and has completely sealed its spot in my official shopping rotation!!  Check them out when you have a moment (they also have an online site).

Tell me about your favorite thrift or  vintage shop?  Any tips to share?

What I’m Wearing: Upcycled Denim Jacket With Knit Sleeves (yes, it is complete — I’ve been meaning to post for weeks.  It is coming soon – I promise.  In the meantime, check out Part I of my prior DIY post), BCBG Top, Target black leggings, Quipid Riding Boots, Louis Vuitton Damier Ebone Neverfull

11 thoughts on “My Weekend Trip to Hong Kong (Vintage)

    • Lol! It is a cool vintage shop in Charlotte NC. Check out there website though…. they sell some items online. It is definitely a cool spot! I love it!! I literally had to stop myself!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!!!

Leave a Reply

