Shop Your Closet: How to Wear Vintage Blazers

I’ve always been a big outerwear girl….  jackets, coats, blazers, vests….  You name it – I pretty much own it.  So, of course, you probably think that means I live some place that’s really cold, right?  Nahhh….  I just happen to think that jackets are the perfect accessory!  They are an easy way to add some instant glam to practically any look.  I love to pair a good blazer with jeans and a tee but there are so many ways to wear this classic piece (pair it with sheath dresses, maxi-dresses, pencil skirts, denim skirts, jeans, trousers, shorts, t-shirts and tanks).  The options are unlimited, so don’t be afraid to experiment….  regardless of your style, it’s easy to make the look your own!

Now, my personal obsession at the moment is with vintage style blazers.   I’ve been on a full scale mission to find some good ones.  I’ve had a lot of success with my recent thrift shopping adventures (Value Village: $3.50 each for the 2 pictured on the right)….

but you can also find great options right in your own closet.

Here are 3 quick things you can do to update your “shop your closet” blazer:

  • Big shoulder pads?  Pull them out.  Lots of 80’s blazers had fabulous prints but those awfully large shoulder pads.  Pull those right out and you’ve got a great foundation to start with.
  • Are the buttons boring or outdated?  Replace them.  And not just on the jacket body but also consider changing or adding buttons to the cuffs.  It’s an easy and inexpensive way to add a funky edge.
  • Still looking for a little extra flair?  Add equestrian inspired elbow patches.  A great way to give the blazer a more menswear inspired feel – which is all the rage right now.  Check out Fab Sugar’s DIY tutorial (How to Add Elbow Patches to a Sweater).

But don’t fret, if you threw away all of those great blazers from years past….  consider raiding your boyfriend’s, husband’s or father’s closets!  (Sorry guys!) And don’t forget to check out the men’s section in local thrift stores.  You’ll find lots of great options there.

How are you all wearing your vintage blazers?  Any other styling tips?  I’d love to hear from you!!!

What I’m Wearing: Hong Kong Vintage Thrift Find Blazer, J. Crew Tee, True Religion Jeans, Quipid Riding Boots, J. Crew Bubble Necklace

Have a great week everyone!

14 thoughts on “Shop Your Closet: How to Wear Vintage Blazers

  1. Thanks for the great tips in this blog entry. I plan to hit up local thrift stores for potential blazers.

    Keep up the good work!!!!

    • Yes, isn’t Value Village great? They definitely have some of the best selection of blazers!

      And I agree with you…. nothing like a chic heel or boot with blazer and jeans! Instant glam!!

    • Thanks Caroline! I was drawn to this one because of all the funky colors! I have a feeling it’s going to become one of my favorites so I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of it!!!

      xo, Kenya

Leave a Reply

