How to Style 2 Classics: Pencil Skirts and Chambray Shirts

DSC_0017First of all, do not forget to enter my amazing giveaway for a custom made Kenya L Designs Blazer. The contest ends on Dec 23 and right now the entries are very limited (translation=your chances of winning are quite good). I’m also relaxing the rules slightly…  if you complete 2 out of the 3 eligibility requirements, you’ll be entered for the drawing. (See Animal Print, Peplum and a Giveaway post for additional details).

Now, with that bit of housekeeping out of the way…

DSC_0081Everyone loves an oldy but goody right?  You know what I mean…  There are just certain classic pieces that seem to remain wardrobe staples season after season.  And while their popularity and position in the fashion world may ebb and flow slightly, somehow they continue to keep looking fresh.  Enter the pencil skirt and the chambray shirt.  Both classic pieces, and both getting loads of attention right now.  I can’t seem to stop thinking about either of them so why not style the 2 together?

You know my love for the pencil skirt (see Latest Obsession: The Printed Pencil Skirt).  It’s a simple yet classy style and the cut is very flattering on practically every body type.  But I am also quickly becoming crazed with the chambray top too.  It is an easy trend to wear and a perfect neutral.  And there are so many styling options; layered underneath a crewneck sweater or sheath, worn open (almost as a cardigan) over a dress or pants, tucked in to a skirt, worn with colored pants or jeans, buttoned and belted over a dress or skirt.  I could go on….  I think the point is that chambray is a easy way to add some contrast to an outfit.DSC_0037

IMG_0031I decided to pair my chambray top (tucked in) with a recent J. Crew pencil skirt purchase.  This skirt is definitely multi- dimensional as is: great texture, beautiful print and an awesome hue.  But with that, I still wanted to add another unexpected piece to it.  I decided to wear this skirt high waisted as well and added a belt just for a little more separation between the 2 pieces.  The blue suede shoes were purely for statement purposes — just to add a little funky edge!

What I’m Wearing: J. Crew Chambray Shirt, J. Crew No.2 Pencil Skirt, Nine West Blue Suede Pumps, J. Crew NecklaceDSC_0046

What do you think?  What classic piece “remixes” are you loving right now?DSC_0071IMG_0030

30 thoughts on “How to Style 2 Classics: Pencil Skirts and Chambray Shirts

    • Thanks so much Monica! I like this color combo quite a bit! Believe it or not, I used to be a brown and black girl… very neutral colors but something happened with the recent color flurry and I just love color right now!!!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      xo, Kenya

  1. I really love the look, it is really stylish and funky, eventhough it is not something I would normally put together. I really like your style! Do you want to follow each other? 🙂
    charlotte-borntoreview.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Thanks so much Charlotte! Not too long ago, I would not have worn this either but my fashion “threshold” has been changing quite a bit!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

      xo, Kenya

    • Thanks Priscilla! You are so right! J. Crew skirts (and really so many of their pieces) are great investments and tend to stand the test of time! I am a complete J. Crew obsessor! I have way too much of their stuff!

      Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting too!

      xo, Kenya 🙂

Leave a Reply

