Winter Florals

DSC_0016Florals have been on my winter obsession list pretty much all winter long.   In fact, I actually purchased this skirt before the end of last year.  But, I had been really challenged in finding the right thing to style it with… so challenged that I had almost given up on making it a winter time look…. until last night.

DSC_0013I decided to “reassess” my closet and came across these pieces.  I must admit this look definitely pushed my fashion comfort level (yes, even more than the dress over pants post).  And I had more than my share of love/hate moments throughout the day today.  Standing in the mirror this morning, I was ready to declare myself a fashion genius but after a few hours at work and a quick visit to the bathroom (and the mirror)… I started thinking more along the lines of #fashion fail!  DSC_0027The thing is…  floral prints already have so much color and pop — so it could be very easy to go too far.  I certainly didn’t want to be in that category but I also didn’t want to do the typical either.

At the end of the day, I like how the look turned out.  I decided to stay in the same general color scheme by pairing it with the printed chambray shirt, navy tights and blue suede heels and I think adding the navy blazer helped blend the pieces together.DSC_0018DSC_0036

What do you think?  How have you pushed your fashion comfort level lately?  Any love/hate moments to share?  Let me know!

What I’m Wearing: Nordstrom Rack Blazer, J. Crew Chambray Shirt, Ann Taylor Loft Floral Skirt, Nine West Suede Pumps, Louis Vuitton Monogram Speedy

DSC_0033Where Am I: Yorkmount Cafe

Have a Great Week Everyone!!

41 thoughts on “Winter Florals

  1. High five for pushing your fashion comfort level! It’s a great skirt that you can use all year around too:) I like that you stayed in the same colour scheme, it ties your look together but also lets the skirt stand out. Well done:)
    I recently pushed myself out of my comfort zone ( see my sunday ease post ) and bought a pair of rose/salmon colour velvet pants. This is definitely a colour I would never wear…I usually stick with darker shades of pants or jeans ( black, dark green, purple etc.)…so this was something new. I had a love/hate feeling with them at first but now I’m in a “like ” phase with them!lol! Baby steps! right
    xo,
    Jackie

    • Lol Jackie! Yes, definitely baby steps! Glad to know I’m not the only one that struggles with that love/hate thing sometimes. But at the end of the day… it usually ends up being love. It’s just great to push yourself some days. I’ll definitely check out your post!

      xo, Kenya

  2. I agree with Moonstone .. for “pushing your fashion comfort level” and creating a vibrant outfit. I would have fallen back on the safety of a white shirt – for sure.

    Monica

  3. Stepping out of my comfort level zone is pretty difficult sometimes. Believe it or not, that usually means wearing florals or polka dots. I never really liked either growing up so it’s been fun trying to incorporate them into my wardrobe.

    I’m a big proponent of trying new trends!
    FashionEdible Blog

  4. I love this Kenya! I always seem to be covered in shades of blue, I’m just drawn to them for some reason, so this is definitely in my arena. I’m glad you figured out a great outfit to go with that fabulous skirt.

    • Thanks Tiffy! 🙂 I think that’s one of the coolest things about blogging… it helps push and evolve our personal style comfort zones! I would not have worn this a year ago!!

      xo, Kenya

  5. I seriously love this look, mainly Because this is something I would wear! There have been several times that I have gone outside looking a hot mess! My family has even told me that doesn’t go and than their like wait a minute actually it does go! I think with fashion is when you go beyond your borders and not caring about what people think of you! Cause regardless they will look at if it’s a hit or miss! I still like this look on you!

Leave a Reply

