OOTD: Summertime Blues

Chambray Blazer and Pencil SkirtIt’s been an unusually rainy month here in Charlotte (and for much of the south east).  Summers in the south are normally hot and humid with a fair share of thunderstorms in the afternoon.  But this summer’s weather has been extreme, with almost a tropical feel to it.  Rain and storms have been popping up out of nowhere.  Sunny one minute, monsoon the next, back sunny again.  (It has actually started raining since I started writing this post).

Anyway, it’s put a little bit of a damper on typical summertime outdoor activities and definitely has limited my photo takes for the blog… as Mother Nature’s schedule hasn’t always been aligning with mine.

Chambray Blazer and Pencil SkirtWith that…  today’s look is actually an outfit that I wore earlier in the week (during one of the non-rainy moments) to work.  I first put it together to attend a leadership conference near the beginning of summer.  I liked it so much that I thought it would a perfect business casual look for the office! My inspiration was that “chambray shirt and pencil skirt” ensemble that has become so popular lately… but I decided to add a twist by trading out the chambray shirt for a chambray blazer.  The blazer has so many great details that provide lots of options to play around with.  I loved the green lining so much that I decided to cuff the sleeves and add my own green accents.

What do you think?

What I’m Wearing: Gap Blazer, J. Crew Tee, Ann Taylor Loft Pencil Skirt, Zara Heels, Frock Candy Belt, J. Crew Statement Necklace, Louis Vuitton Clutch, Tumi Sunglasses

Where Am I: Shopton Road Center

And, by the way…  yep — by the end of this post…. the sun is out and shining brightly again!  Have a great week everyone!!!

Chambray Blazer and Pencil Skirt

Enhanced by Zemanta
38 thoughts on “OOTD: Summertime Blues

    • Thanks Casey! Girl… the weather is ridiculous right now ! I am definitely over the rain! But I’ve tried to pull it off when I can!! 🙂

      xo, Kenya

  1. I think this is a great combination hunni! Love the colors and print. It rains every day here as well but at least it’s at the same time each day so I can plan my shoots around that time 🙂

  2. I think you look fabulous! The pop of green is perfect and I love the yellow pencil skirt. I’m going to have to do it .. buy a large pencil skirt (hips you know) and get it altered in the waist 😛

    Monica.

    • Thanks Monica! You should absolutely get a pencil skirt! I think it is one of the most flattering styles! Your idea on tailoring is spot on! I have started tailoring most of my items now! It completely changes the look! Can’t wait to see a post from you!

      Xo, Kenya

  3. Great outfit Kenya. Loving the blue blazer with the yellow skirt.

    I would love it if you stopped by and entered my 2 giveaways: Henri Lou Bracelet and one from Gigglosophy. Also don’t forget to link up for my weekly link up this Thursday.

    Agi:)

    vodkainfusedlemonade.com

  4. Such a great business casual outfit. You look fabulous! Love the colour combo, especially your blazer! I want one 🙂 Might be tempted to check out gap.com!lol
    I hear you with the weather…we’ve had crazy rain storms here over the last few weeks and high humidity 😦
    xo, jackie

  5. The weather has been same here for the last couple of days..and so wWINDY! hard to take photos right?haha.Anyways,I love your jacket and its dots pattern.I think you carry these styles so perfectly.and I love how your outfits are so inspirational and easy to create at the same time girl 🙂
    xx

    styleofozoz.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

