Lite Brite, Anyone? – Brights in Bold Fall Fashion

As I was uploading and reviewing the photos from today’s post, I couldn’t help but think of the Lite Brite  toy by Hasbro from the 80’s.  Does anybody else remember this toy?  Or am I completely dating myself?  Ok, so granted, I never actually had one — but I do vividly remember the commercials, in particular around the holidays, of little kids creating crazy designs on a dark board with neon bright pegs.  And I always thought it was the coolest thing….  Anyway, today’s photos definitely brought it back to me – bright colors against a dark back drop – hence the inspired title!

Anyway, my outfit inspiration from today actually came from a J. Crew look that I saw online last week. (Latest Obsession:  Printed Pencil SkirtBut the crazy thing is…  even though it was my full intention to recreate the J. Crew look, apparently I was actually re-channeling a previous look of my own!  Remember the Blazer and Skinny Jeans Restyled post?  Yep – it is the ABSOLUTE identical look.  The only thing that’s different?  Skirt instead of Jeans, Long Sleeve Tee instead of Tank and add in the Gray Tights.  CRAZY.  I mean who unintentionally does that?  Hilarious!  Apparently I really like this color combo!

Tip: Consider your short sleeve blazer as a “vest” of sorts.  Pair it over a long sleeve tee or blouse.  It creates a very unexpected yet polished look.

What I’m Wearing: Kenya L. Designs Blazer – purchase here, J. Crew Top, J. Crew Wool Pencil Skirt, Gray Sweater Tights, BCBG Girls Mary Jane’s, Michael Kors Purse and Watch, Versona Accessories

What’s been your latest style inspiration?  I’d love to hear from you!

22 thoughts on “Lite Brite, Anyone? – Brights in Bold Fall Fashion

    • Ahh… Did u have one too? How cool! I so wanted a lite brite but somehow “Santa” missed that each Christmas! Anyway, thanks for the nice comment. I really like the skirt actually. The fit is great!!

    • Thanks Shakiyla! I must admit that I think the gray turned out pretty well! It’s so easy sometimes to go with the usual black or brown but grey is a great way to mix it up!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment